CIS 351 Data Structures

Barbara Nostrand, Ph.D.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


Schedule

All assigments are due at 11:59 PM on the assigned date

No work will be accepted after 11:59 PM DEC 11

This is an approximate schedule of when topics will be covered in class.  You are solely responsible for reading all of the assigned material.  While some material will be covered in class,  much will depend upon your own reading.  You are also responsible for any additional material presented in class regardless of whether it has been distributed either as a handout or posted to a WEB page.  Homework problems will be presented in class by students on the homework due date. 

In addition to scheduled homework,  you will complete several laboratory exercises before the end of the term.  Electronic versions of your project directory for each exercise will be turned in via the internet.  You also need to submit an individual written technical report after completing each of the laboratory exercises. 


DatesReadingProgrammingDueTopics
01 Mon, Aug 27 Course WEB Page Sample
Introduction and Course Overview
02 Wed, Aug 29 pg 679 - 827

Java Review
03 LAB
Lab 1 SEP 06Java Review
04 Mon, Sep 03

NO CLASS TODAY
05 Wed, Sep 05

Event Driven Software
06 LAB Class System Lab 2 SEP 17Event Driven Software
07 Mon, Sep 10 pg 1 - 58

Software Design
08 Wed, Sep 12 File I/O Sample
Software Design
09 LAB
Lab 3 SEP 19Software Design
10 Mon, Sep 17 pg 59 - 124

Correctness & Efficiency
11 Wed, Sep 19

Correctness & Efficiency
12 LAB Complexity Lab 4 SEP 24Correctness & Efficiency
13 Mon, Sep 24 pg 125 - 192

Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
14 Wed, Sep 26 Constructors and Methods

Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
15 LAB More about Constructors Lab 5 OCT 10Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
16 Mon, Oct 01

REVIEW
17 Wed, Oct 03 pg 1 - 192

IN-CLASS EXAM 1
18 LAB HELP SESSION
Good Luck on the Exam!
19 Mon, Oct 08 pg 193 - 256

Lists & Collections
20 Wed, Oct 10

Lists & Collections
21 LAB Lab 6 OCT 22Lists & Collections
22 Mon, Oct 15 pg 257 - 302

Stacks
23 Wed, Oct 17

Stacks
24 LAB Lab 7 OCT 29Stacks
25 Mon, Oct 22 pg 303 - 346

Queues
26 Wed, Oct 24 Building Objects Containing Objects

Queues
27 LAB Object Oriented DesignLab 8 NOV 05Queues
28 Mon, Oct 29 pg 347 - 396

Recursion
26 Wed, Oct 31

Recursion
27 LAB Lab 9 NOV 14Recursion
28 Mon, Nov 05 pg 397 - 460

Trees
29 Wed, Nov 07 Binary Search Trees

Trees
30 LAB Lab 10 NOV 19Trees
31 Mon, Nov 12 pg 461 - 512

Sets & Maps
32 Wed, Nov 14 Hardware Sorting

Sets & Maps
33 LAB HELP SESSION
Sets & Maps
34 Mon, Nov 19 pg 1 - 460

IN-CLASS EXAM 2
35 Wed, Nov 21 ArrayQueue

NO CLASS TODAY
36 LAB NO LAB
Happy Thanksgiving!
37 Mon, Nov 26 pg 513 - 622

Sorting & Self-Balancing Self-Balancing Search Trees
38 Wed, Nov 28 Maze Hints

Sorting & Self-Balancing Self-Balancing Search Trees
39 LAB Lab 11 DEC 03Sorting & Self-Balancing Self-Balancing Search Trees
40 Mon, Dec 03 pg 623 - 678

Graphs
41 Wed, Dec 05

Graphs
42 LAB HELP SESSION
Graphs
43 Tue, Dec 11


FINAL EXAM -- TUE 2:45 - 4:45 pm -- LINK 105

ALL Readings & Assignments are due on the date shown
Class time is allocated for examinations on the days shown


Last modified: 2007 DEC 07
bnostran@syr.edu