CSE 382 Algorithms and Data Structures

Barbara Nostrand, Ph.D.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


Schedule

All assigments are due at 11:59 PM on the assigned date

No work will be accepted after 11:59 PM MAY 05

This is an approximate schedule of when topics will be covered in class.  You are solely responsible for reading all of the assigned material.  While some material will be covered in class,  much will depend upon your own reading.  You are also responsible for any additional material presented in class regardless of whether it has been distributed either as a handout or posted to a WEB page.  Homework problems will be presented in class by students on the homework due date. 

In addition to scheduled homework,  you will complete several laboratory exercises before the end of the term.  Electronic versions of your project directory for each exercise will be turned in via the internet.  You also need to submit an individual written technical report after completing each of the laboratory exercises. 


DatesData Structures
Reading
Algorithms
Reading
Software
Engineering
DueTopics
01 Mon, Jan 14 Course WEB Page
Introduction and Course Overview
02 Wed, Jan 16 pg 679 - 827 pg 1 - 40
Java Review
03 LAB Constructors and Methods Lab 1 JAN 24Java Review
04 Mon, Jan 21 Java and Makefiles

NO CLASS TODAY
05 Wed, Jan 23 pg 1 - 58 pg 97 - 122
Algorithms & Software Design
06 LAB Class System Lab 2 JAN 29Event Driven Software
07 Mon, Jan 28 pg 59 - 124 pg 41 - 96

Correctness & Efficiency
08 Wed, Jan 30 Correctness & Efficiency
09 LAB Complexity Lab 3 FEB 05Correctness & Efficiency
10 Mon, Feb 04 pg 379 - 414

Limitations of Algorithm Power
11 Wed, Feb 06
Limitations of Algorithm Power
12 LAB More about Constructors Lab 4 FEB 14Limitations of Algorithm Power
13 Mon, Feb 11 pg 125 - 192 pg 415 - 463

Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
14 Wed, Feb 13 Lab 4 Hints
Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
15 LAB Lab 5 MAR 04Inheritance and Class Hierarchies
16 Mon, Feb 18
REVIEW
17 Wed, Feb 20 pg 1 - 192 pg 1 - 122
IN-CLASS EXAM 1
18 LAB HELP SESSIONGood Luck on the Exam!
19 Mon, Feb 25 pg 193 - 256
Lists & Collections
20 Wed, Feb 27 Building Objects Containing Objects
Lists & Collections
21 LAB Object Oriented Design
Lists & Collections
22 Mon, Mar 03 pg 257 - 346 pg 249 - 278
Stacks, Queues, and Deques
23 Wed, Mar 05
Stacks, Queues, and Deques
24 LAB Lab 6 MAR 20Stacks
25 Mon, Mar 10

SPRING BREAK
26 Wed, Mar 12

SPRING BREAK
27 LAB Lab 7 MAR 20Queues
28 Mon, Mar 17 pg 347 - 396 pg 123 - 156
Recursion
29 Wed, Mar 19 The Master Theorem
Recursion
30 LAB Lab 8 APR 01Recursion
31 Mon, Mar 24 pg 397 - 460 pg 197 - 248
Trees
32 Wed, Mar 26 Binary Search Trees
Trees
33 LAB Maze HintsLab 9 APR 08Trees
34 Mon, Mar 31 Introduction to Dynamic Programming pg 279 - 306
Dynamic Programming
35 Wed, Apr 02 Dynamic Programming Practice Problems
Dynamic Programming
36 LAB Lab 10 APR 15Dynamic Programming
37 Mon, Apr 07 pg 461 - 512 pg 157 - 196 Sets & Maps
38 Wed, Apr 09 pg 1 - 460 pg 1 - 306
IN-CLASS EXAM 2
39 LAB Lab 11 MAY 02Sets & Maps
40 Mon, Apr 14 pg 513 - 622 pg 307 - 334 Sorting & Self-Balancing Search Trees
41 Wed, Apr 16 Hardware Sorting
Sorting & Self-Balancing Search Trees
42 LAB Self Balancing TreesLab 12 MAY 02Sorting & Self-Balancing Search Trees
43 Mon, Apr 21 pg 623 - 678 pg 335 - 378 Graphs
44 Wed, Apr 23
Graphs
45 LAB



Graph Algorithms
46 Mon, Apr 28
REVIEW
47 Thr, May 01 pg 1 - 678 pg 1 - 463
FINAL EXAM
48 Mon, May 05 pg 1 - 678 pg 1 - 463
LAB DEADLINE

ALL Readings & Assignments are due on the date shown
Class time is allocated for examinations on the days shown


Last modified: 2008 APR 29
bnostran@syr.edu